Vulnerable

I am just off the plane from Texas, a quick holiday visit with my family when it was just a little cheaper to travel. By necessity (it’s past 9:00 on a school-night), this post will be quick.

No doubt, the Connecticut tragedy holds many of us in a grip of conflict, confusion, and overwhelming sadness. I’ve spent the last couple days thinking about all the vulnerabilities… of children and security in our schools; of a public without adequate gun legislation; and, perhaps most of all, of a mother and her troubled son. I was sick listening to an interview with the shooter’s neighbor who described the family broken by divorce, the child odd, and the mother too strict, and I wonder… had I been the parent to open up to such a neighbor, only to find blame and criticism and righteous indignation, would I have closed the door, plastered a smile, and pretended like I had it all under control, leaving myself, my son, and a piece of the world more vulnerable than I could ever imagine?

In the months ahead, we will no doubt hear a million different takes on what should happen to prevent such a tragedy from ever happening again. But for me, right now, I am thinking about openness and trust. What kind of neighbor and friend would I have been? Could I be?

And I am reminded of another TED Talk by Brene Brown who says it all so perfectly. It’s worth a visit.

http://www.ted.com/talks/brene_brown_on_vulnerability.html

Peace.

2 Comments

Filed under institutions, relationships, society

2 responses to “Vulnerable

  1. I am adoring all of your blog, and I thank you for your kind spirit and eloquence. You are so right, what you pondered about the judgmental neighbor. Judgment and criticism is what makes people close the door. Acceptance and tolerance help open doors and build bridges between us. May more of us role model tolerance, that we may help contribute to a healthier world. Thank you for this wise article. Hugs, Gina

  2. Contribute like YOU do, Gina… I love your blog and the tips for healthier, sustainable living. Those snowman pics are priceless 🙂 Thanks so much for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

