Gardening, Farming and Net Neutrality

Inevitably we look upon society, so kind to you, so harsh to us, as an ill-fitting form that distorts the truth; deforms the mind; fetters the will.

Three Guineas.   Virginia Woolf, 1938.

 

This morning I rose with the dawn to spend a little time inspecting all the greens that emerged after the Mother’s Day snowstorm and several days of heavy rain. Surprises abound. I had no idea, for example, the fertile potential of the woolly lamb’s ear. Those silvery lobes now don every open space of my herb and grass garden, as well as the cracks of an elder “patio” (actually the concrete slab that remained after the original garage burned sometime in the 70s). Arugula is similarly prolific while the blue sage sits square in its original earthy pocket, pushing infant greens through the stiffened gray stalks of last season’s growth. Of course there are weeds… lots and lots of weeds, and too many spaces that require something altogether new and different if I am to create the dream garden of my imagination.

 

It’s overwhelming.

 

And waving the white flag of surrender earlier in the month, I headed to the Internet to begin a search, sustainable urban landscaping, which offered up the local fare that appeals to my economic convictions—specifically, a site called Urban Roots. A phone call and a lovely conversation with Susanne who assured me that we could come up with a plan to be implemented over time and on a teacher’s salary, and we were off. But not before she told me to start collecting pictures and ideas that appealed to my gardener’s sensibilities so that when we met she could get a true feel for my needs and tastes. Back to the Internet where, studying, I realized that gardens are as varied and distinct as a Picasso is from a Renoit. Picture after picture, and I’m trying to decide on a label that might identify my tastes. For now, I’ve settled on conservative Bohemian.

 

But as is so often the case, I begin one search only to be taken off on peripheral side streets of other curiosities. Somewhere in that digital mound of photos was a picture of an urban farm, created on an abandoned parking lot in Denver proper. I clicked on the Feed Denver site that speaks of creating a “caring economy” while being good stewards of the earth and its gifts. From its executive director, Lisa Rogers, I learned about food deserts and false securities of provision. There were volunteer opportunities to which I signed on, so last Saturday spent the morning with tender hopeful souls (or perhaps wannabes, like me), trimming back a virtual hedge of arugula, the exact variety growing out of control in my own backyard. We plucked arugula and chard leaves suitable for sale in their little market and spared the rest for compost. All told, a perfect morning in May.

 

 

Confession: This post isn’t really about gardening OR urban farms. Though, I guess, peripherally, it is. Peripherally it’s about many, many things. It’s about coming out late and Ash Beckham and acceptance; about GMOs and Monsanto and greed; it’s about paleo dieting and apple cider vinegar; about all the stuff we question in a day and how the Internet answers those questions. It’s about Net Neutrality and what its end could mean to Internet users like me, to small businesses like Urban Roots and to nonprofits like Feed Denver.

 

For those who don’t know, Net Neutrality is the principle that Internet providers must offer equal access to all content without bias for or against products or websites. It keeps the Internet open and the flow of information free. But last week, the Federal Communications Commission paved the way for large cable and telephone companies like Comcast and Verizon to charge for a particular speed of travel. So… if you’re a giant corporation with vast sums of money to spend on rapid Internet speeds, your content will land with users far more quickly than, say, a local or start-up business—or a nonprofit. Imagine the implications for a surfer like me, who starts a search not knowing what’s out there or just exactly what I’m looking for… under the new rules, chances are I might never know what’s out there. I might never have seen Urban Roots or Feed Denver. Really, how could such businesses and organizations keep up with the spending of  Walmart or Monsanto? It is license for corporate favoritism and Internet discrimination. And when I think about all the small journalistic sites like truthdig and truthout where I get much of my news and information, I fear for what any of us might actually “know” in the future—just exactly what Comcast and Verizon and AT&T want us to know, I suspect. For a while, the few of us who know to wait out the Internet waves, probably will. But as this generation of us who understand the implications disappears, so will the spread of truth… so will any remaining legislative fairness.

 

That is, unless we do something.

 

My understanding is that the FCC offered 60 days (from May 15th) for the public to offer its concerns—its stories. It is an understatement to say that the FCC is now scrambling as the public makes known its fears and frustrations. We must keep it scrambling; it has to know that we know… and that we care. Please take a little time to write a note here; just follow the links. Yes, the corporations pushing this thing are big, but think about SOPA a couple years back. There was some big backing for that, too, but public action and outcry stopped it dead in its tracks.

 

We can do this. For Democracy, for fairness, for future gardeners, farmers and humanitarians… we must.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under civil liberties, fair trade, gay rights, inclusion, institutions, lesbian, out late, LGBT, politics, society

2 responses to “Gardening, Farming and Net Neutrality

  1. I LOVE your sentence about the blue sage! I also love the way you used your experiences to illustrate exactly how the net neutrality could affect us. I hadn’t heard of it before so will go do some research now to see if it’s an international thing or only related to the US. To be honest it kind of sounds like one of ‘those’ US things! But still, I imagine the implications would’ve wide reaching.

    • Yep, I saw a chart today (wish I remembered where… I’d share it with you) that compared U.S. Internet providers and their exploitations to those of other countries. The U.S. was by far the worst. I would imagine that any effect of net neutrality loss on other countries would be relative to those entities trying to enter U.S. markets. I doubt it would have much bearing otherwise. Thanks for the kind encouragement and for reading, pepibebe.

Leave a Reply

